#23 It’s a Throwback…

It’s ‘Throwback Thursday’ timmmeeee!

So after browsing my photo album of completed projects I thought it would be a good idea to share a project I completed last year as part of a round robin. The Theme was birds…

It was the first round robin I ever took part in & it was lots of fun! I liked the challenge of being given a theme & finding something to stitch for it. It was the perfect opportunity for me to sit on the floor surrounded by my cross stitch magazines browsing lots and lots and lots of charts & picking out something I thought would work well. It probably pushed me to the next level of stitching from charts rather than using kits. As I’ve said previously, I much prefer using charts & my own threads rather than faffing with strings of thread trying to work out which one is medium tan & light tan…ha 🙂

There were four of us with different themes. Last years were Cakes, Birds, Teddy Bears & Fantasy. I’m sure over the next few weeks I’ll show you my other RR squares!

Anyway, So here it is!

Bird themed round robin square

Bird themed round robin square

Have any of you taken part in a RR before? I’ve tried to complete one this year but its failed miserably due to one person falling behind & not communicating with the rest of the group! It’s a little frustrating when that happens.

It’s worth mentioning that when everyone pulls together & does it to the deadline (give or take a week), it really pays off & you end up with an awesome finished piece!

If any of you lovely stitchers are interested in getting involved in a round robin then let me know. It seems to work well in groups of four… We would send each other the addresses, agree on an order & completion dates & away we go! 🙂 drop me a comment if you would be interested!

On another note, I purchased a new handbag this week (a guilty pleasure) & it has hoops on either side where the straps could be extended. Anyway, I was thinking it would be a good idea to stitch a little keyring to attach to my bag & personalise it. So, I started browsing my magazines (as you do) & came across 3 different small designs I want to stitch for special events I have coming up in the next 2 months. Typically, I’ve now been sidetracked with starting these little card designs for my friends… So watch this space… more small projects to share soon!!

I told you I would get distracted from my main project. Click the link Here to see how far I’ve got on my baby sampler 🙂

Happy Stitching 🙂

6 thoughts on “#23 It’s a Throwback…

  1. I’d be interested! I’ve chattered to another fellow that mentioned the round robin project and it sounds really interesting! I don’t have any friends that cross stitch (despite me trying to get them involved) and it would be great to get me out my comfort zone as I’m always doing kits and mainly bothy threads kits. I do work full time though (Monday-Friday 9 to 5) so would been far in advance deadlines, months after better than weeks, how often in advance do you set the deadline for doing a project about the size of your birds? 🙂

    Like

    • I totally understand! I work shift work so my hours can vary which isn’t great for my hobby lol.
      Well the example I posted was a 60×60 and we have a month per square. So for example if we had four people you would start your square in November and then post first week of December and it rolls on for the 4 months until it’s Coke back to you finished:-)

      It would be best if we had 4 people to do one but I’m more than happy to give it a go! Can you maybe put out some feelers and see if we can get 2 more to join us to make a group?

      If you have Facebook I really would recommend a group I’m on called ‘cross stitch friends uk’. It’s a great group of cross Stitchers that share their work with each other & have really friendly chats about things they are unsure of! I don’t have any friends that cross stitch but that site really helps build up a lovely cross stitch community you can be a part of!

      Anyway, let me know! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve just seen your comment on the group now. I didn’t realise they wouldn’t let you ask! Never mind 🙂 I hope you saw my comment about the ‘Magical creatures calendar’, if you are interested you could maybe join that? I will be starting it in January. x

    Like

Leave a Reply

